musicalrobotlovesyou

Just another WordPress.com site

A New Year and a New Album

Tonight we laid down the first tracks for our new album!

photoI never thought I’d say this, but I am so excited to be back in the studio. During our recording sessions last year, I had a lot of trouble figuring out exactly how to record anything that captured the fun and energy of our live shows. At one point I called our mastering engineer, Matt Baxter-a guy who’s been recording on albums since he was a kid, and asked for some help in figuring out how to do it right. He explained that you have to approach it from a completely different place than a live performance, and that it takes practice to get there. (Seriously, why is the answer to getting good at things always practice?)

I went back into the studio determined to work hard and figure out how I could get the feeling I wanted to in my playing and singing. By the time we were done with the album I finally dialed in my studio chops.

The first night of the new recordings went super, even though I had a cold and couldn’t manage to hit a note in the chorus of Ten Speed Hero without warbling it every time. What I was lacking in vocal range though, I made up for in spirit. I’m so excited to resume our weekly studio dates with our favorite recording engineer Scott Leftridge, and am pretty sure we’ll have a great new album done before the library Summer Reading Series. At least we had better, it was my New Year’s Resolution.

-Jason

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 3, 2014 by .
